Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (2015)

A Little Background: I realize that it’s been over three months since Episode VII was released… but back when I saw it on opening day, I didn’t have this blog yet. So I thought I’d take advantage of my second viewing to try and gather my thoughts on it. For the most part, my opinion didn’t change this time around, I still loved it. The nostalgic appeal is well-balanced while updating the universe and characters. And the film also creates a great bridge from the original trilogy to this one while offering some kind of redemption for the trilogy we do not speak of.

The Film: Only Abrams. Weeks before the announcement that J.J. Abrams would be taking over the directing duties for the famed space opera franchise, I called it. Or at least I stated that no other director could do it proper justice. After seeing him perform a resurrection on Star Trek, it was a natural conclusion. Abrams has an unparalleled respect and fondness for the cinema space age created by George Lucas, Steven Spielberg, and Ridley Scott. This can be seen in all he does, but it’s in full force for this film. I’ve heard many critiques on the “unoriginality” of the film but I can’t say that I agree. A sequel is a sequel, we shouldn’t expect something fresh and different, nor would we want it. Every Star Wars film has followed the same formula, but do you know what this one has? A smooth script, effortless dialogue, a diverse score, and charismatic characters played by the most talented cast in the series to date. I honestly think we’re looking at the best Star Wars film yet. It didn’t break any new ground, but it just works… and it works beautifully.

Three Favorite Things: Adam Driver’s performance as Kylo Ren, a short appearance from sci-fi veteran Max von Sydow, and John Williams modern yet classic score

Leave a Reply

